Mamta's Kitchen

Forum Thread - Need help

You may also reply to this thread.

Page: 1

Hi to all

I belong to North India. I am not good at cooking. When I prepare meals, sometimes I put less salt or sometime more. The ratio is not correct which doesnot result in good taste. I dont know how much salt,pepper and spices to be put in how much quantity.

another problem is preparing meals in large quantities. when i have to prepare for guests, i dont know how much quantity would be adequate for how many persons

Mamta pls help me out. My husband is very fond of punjabi food. any particular dish i should make for him?

AskCy, on 12/9/2006 06:28pm

A little help from me while you wait....

Salt is mainly personal taste but too much makes things hard to eat. Here in the UK our recommended daily intake of salt shouldn't be more than 6 grams, so you can imagine you shouldn't be putting more than half of that in any one meal.

As for how much spice to use, again odd things like garlic might need a little more or a little less depending on how much you like it, but all the recipes on this site have the amount as a good starting point (which is pretty much spot on)..

If you want to make more than say the 4 portions that the recipe might be for, you would double every ingredient listed and it would then work for 8. You might have to add a little extra cooking time to make sure everything gets its fair share of the heat.

Most of the recipes say how many its for, so if you make it and divide it out into that many portions it will give you an idea of how much. This however is down to personal wants and needs, if you are a farmer working from dawn till dusk moving heavy crops about you would be burning more calories up than the average person so would require bigger portions... and if you sat at a desk all day and took little or no exercise you would require much less..

hope some of this helps (or even makes sense)..

Steve

Charu, on 13/9/2006 07:04pm