Mamta's Kitchen

Forum Thread - cooking rice

You may also reply to this thread.

Page: 1

Hello Mamta, and a belated Happy New Year to you and yours.

Had a quick read of your Facebook page, re: cooking rice. Very comprehensive. Unfortunately, I can't respond to Facebook pages directly, so I am doing so here.

I must point out one thing. I have read (a long ago) that large producers of cooked rice use a ratio of rice to water of 1:1. This is predicated on the fact that 'raw' rice has a water content of about 10% and cooked rice of 60%.

I have been cooking rice now for over 50 years (do you think it's cooked yet!!) and when I started, quickly settled on the method below. It is an absorption method variation:

For 2

Place about 30mL of oil in a saucepan, and add half a sliced medium sized onion. Cook only until the first sign of browning. Now add two handfuls of basmati rice, and stir to coat all the grains with oil. I sometimes add a few green cardamoms at this stage. Then I add fresh cold water to the pan, enough to cover the rice, plus 10 mm more, and let the contents heat up until just boiling. Then I turn the gas down to its lowest setting, and place an oven tray (as used for roasting) under the pan, and place a well fitting lid on it. Then leave it well alone for about 20 minutes. Then I test it to see if it is cooked (ambient temperatures and gas pressures can make a difference) and do the obvious until I am happy with the rice. I then turn out the gas and leave the pan on the cooker until needed (not long!).

I've carried out this method for over 50 years, and very rarely had problems (only with Tesco's offerings of Basmati rice when I couldn't get to the Turkish shop where I buy a 10kg bag each time). This method works for me, whether for just the two of us, or, in one instance for 60 (sixty). In the latter case, I had very favourable feedback!

Mamta, on 5/2/2022 02:49pm

Hello Helen