Mamta's Kitchen

Forum Thread - basic curry sauce 1 " For a more professional taste, add a tsp. water and stir-fry again"

You may also reply to this thread.

Page: 1

Can anyone help me understand the following instructions?

"For a more professional taste, add a tsp. water and stir-fry again until oil separates. Repeat once more..."

What does this achieve?

How does it work?

Does the oil recombine with the sauce before separating again?

How does it make the sauce more professional taste?

Should I stir fry the sauce three times in total?

Would you ever try and serve without the separated oil?

Apologies if these are silly questions, I am fairly new to this cooking.

Thanks!

Mamta, on 12/3/2019 03:51pm

Hello Ron

I was shown this trick/ method by a 15 year old girl in India about 15 years ago. She had learnt it from her mum, who was/is an amazing cook.

I can't explain the scientific reason for doing this, but it does definitely improves the flavour of spices when fried a couple of times. May be this caramelises the onions and spice mix really well. All I can say is that when I do this, the sauce does taste better, more aromatic.

"Should I stir fry the sauce three times in total?"

Depends on the time you have. If frying once, just make sure it is fried well

"Would you ever try and serve without the separated oil?"

Not usually, because the sauce then doesn't smell right, it smells of half cooked onions.

"Apologies if these are silly questions, I am fairly new to this cooking."

No question is a silly question. I am not a professional cook and still learn new things every day, even though I am now in my seventies 🙂

Anyway, welcome to mamtaskitchen

Mamta

Ron, on 13/3/2019 04:55pm

Thanks for your reply and your wonderful website. I will experiment until I hope I get some level of understanding.

Ron

, on 13/3/2019 11:25pm

You are most welcome.

Mamta

Helen Bach, on 31/3/2019 01:11pm