Mamta's Kitchen

Forum Thread - Using Fresh Basil

You may also reply to this thread.

Page: 1

What may appear to be an odd question, but when using fresh basil how should I pick it?

Do I pull the leaves off all in one place?

Should I pick the biggest leaves, or the leaves nearest the top or bottom?

Should I take a whole stem off regardless of leaf size ?

is there a certain place along the stem that you should or shouldn't pick at (as it may not grow back etc)

I'm just wondering which keeps the plant growing and living the best?

Steve

Mamta, on 13/8/2005 12:16pm

Hello Steven

This is rather a long reply to your query!

I pick leaves that are the largest. Or, I pinch the top cluster of leaves, above the next bud, so it grows again. I guess if you leave no leaf-bud on the stem, it will just shrivel up and die.

I grew some Basil in pot this spring and I have been picking leaves since last 3 months. It still keeps growing. I pick some most days, because I use them in my black tea all day, along with a sprinkle of ground cinnamon, which is good for lowering the blood sugar.

As my next pot is now ready, I have .cleaned. the old one, removing dead stems etc. and left it to grow again.

Here is some information on Basil from a section my sister has written under the title 'Healing Foods'. This will be put on site when Kavey and Pete get around to it one of these days.